The Perfect Family by Robyn Harding, 3.5 Stars

Thomas and Viv Adler are the envy of their neighbors: attractive, successful, with well-mannered children and a beautifully restored home. 

Until one morning, when they wake up to find their porch has been pelted with eggs. It’s a prank, Thomas insists; the work of a few out-of-control kids. But when a smoke bomb is tossed on their front lawn, and their car’s tires are punctured, the family begins to worry. Surveillance cameras show nothing but grainy images of shadowy figures in hoodies. And the police dismiss the attacks, insisting they’re just the work of bored teenagers. Unable to identify the perpetrators, the Adlers are helpless as the assaults escalate into violence, and worse. And each new violation brings with it a growing fear. Because everyone in the Adler family is keeping a secret—not just from the outside world, but from each other. And secrets can be very dangerous….

This twisty, addictively page-turning suspense novel about a perfect family’s perfect façade will keep you turning pages until its explosive ending.

Advanced Praise for The Perfect Family:

The bestselling author of the The Swap explores what happens when a seemingly perfect family is pushed to the edge… and beyond in this “propulsive, constantly surprising” (Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of 

“Harding creates powerful character studies, reflects on societal expectations from a variety of viewpoints, and ramps up unmanageable chaos in a tale that is unforgettable on many levels. The small cast allows the author to present thoughtful interior monologues as each character considers their actions and responses and makes adjustments before the next event comes along and rearranges our understanding of everything. Readers ready for a roller coaster ride of guilty admissions peppered with red herrings and actual clues pertaining to the crimes committed will read straight to the end. A great choice for fans of Celeste Ng, Gillian Flynn, and Liane Moriarty.” Booklist (Starred Review)

“A highly entertaining domestic thriller from Harding… The brisk plot takes several clever twists before building to a shocking act of violence. Harding is sure to win new fans with this one.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“In The Perfect Family, Robyn Harding wields deep community ties like a garrote and redefines terror in suburbia. Breathless pacing and an inescapable sense of menace make Harding’s latest an absolute must-read that will scare the hell out of you as only Harding can. This one’s a stunner.” —P. J. Vernon, author of Bath Haus and When You Find Me

“Robyn Harding is at her twisty, devious best with The Perfect Family, a novel that peels back the veneer of suburban perfection to expose the decay beneath. A propulsive, constantly surprising read that both entertains and chills—and makes the reader question whether they really know not only their neighbors, but their own family. From the opening page to the shocking last line, I was hooked.” —Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of The Girls Are All So Nice Here

“Robyn Harding has long been one of my favourite, must-read authors, and The Perfect Family is another example why. Brilliantly layered, fabulously developed and interesting characters, and twists and turns galore all made for a compelling read I couldn’t put down. Add to that Robyn’s wry wit and dark sense of humour that made me laugh out loud, and this is definitely a summer hit. I loved it!” —Hannah Mary McKinnon, bestselling author of Sister Dear and You Will Remember Me.

“Harding takes the reader on a wild psychological ride with this addictive thriller.” Palm Beach Daily News’ “2021 Summer Reading List: 48 of the Best Books for Adults, Teens, and Kids”

My Review:

The Adlers are the type of people you really love to hate. The mom is perfect, has a perfect garden and even is an aspiring home-decor entrepreneur. The husband, Thomas, is a man’s man. He’s a successful realtor and knows everyone in the community. Their son Eli is a golden boy. He’s a soccer start who is home from his year away at college. And their daughter Tarryn, well, I guess there’s always a black sheep in just about every family.

The only thing is, someone actually really does hate them. Enough to terrorize their house and leave every single family member scrambling to figure out who really hates them THAT much. Harding writes a fast-paced novel where we watch those that usually only advertise success and happiness on Instagram, fall to pieces and get pushed to the brink.

The Perfect Family is definitely a thriller for our times. It’s a fast-paced page-turner, where the reader is guessing the whole time as to who is behind the attacks on the family home. Special thanks to Netgalley and Gallery Books for an advanced e-galley in exchange for my honest review. This one is out August 10. Get your copy!

Indiebound

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: