Dark Roads by Chevy Stevens, 3.5 Stars

Chevy Stevens, well-known for her amazing debut, Still Missing, writes serial killer so well. So well that the minute I see a book is out from her, I snap it up ASAP. And consume it quickly. And then I’m sad because I have to wait for her next book. But I have thoroughly enjoyed all her books. If you haven’t heard of her, she’s perfect for fans of Mary Kubica, B.A. Paris and Gillian Flynn.

It’s been a while since Stevens has released a new book. If I’m right, it’s been since 2017, so see, it is possible for good to come out of the pandemic! Maybe she finally had time to get the next book written? Either way, I hope it’s a sign on more books to come!

From the Publisher:

Cold Creek Highway stretches close to five hundred miles through British Columbia’s mountain wilderness to the west coast. Isolated and vast, it has become a prime hunting ground for predators. For decades, young women traveling the road have gone missing. Motorists and hitchhikers, those passing through or living in one of the small towns scattered along the region, have fallen prey time and again. And no killer or abductor who has ever stalked the highway has ever been brought to justice.

Hailey McBride calls Cold Creek home. Her father taught her to respect nature, how to live and survive off the land, and to never travel the highway alone. Now he’s gone, leaving her a teenage orphan in the care of her aunt whose police officer husband uses his badge as a means to bully and control Hailey. Overwhelmed by grief and forbidden to work, socialize, or date, Hailey vanishes into the mountainous terrain, hoping everyone will believe she’s left town. Rumors spread that she was taken by the highway killer—who’s claimed another victim over the summer.

One year later, Beth Chevalier arrives in Cold Creek, where her sister Amber lived—and where she was murdered. Estranged from her parents and seeking closure, Beth takes a waitressing job at the local diner, just as Amber did, desperate to understand what happened to her and why. But Beth’s search for answers puts a target on her back—and threatens to reveal the truth behind Hailey’s disappearance…

My Review:

Dark Roads reminded me a lot of Big Sky. While Cold Creek Highway is in B.C. I imagined it has the same mountains and trees as Montana, and I totally admit I could be completely wrong. But Hailey has grown up in this wild terrain and she is tough both emotionally from losing her mother at a young age, and physically. She’s just got grit.

And unfortunately, she needs it. Because her father has recently been killed in a car accident and she finds herself an orphan at just shy of 18-years-old. Forced to move in with her well-meaning aunt and Sherriff uncle, things are fine for a bit, until they really aren’t. She has no choice but to disappear, leaving her girlfriend Amber behind.

But there is also a killer stalking Cold Creek. Is it the same person who has murdered up and down the Cold Creek Highway for years or someone new? While Hailey struggles to stay hidden and alive, live continues in Cold Creek, and there’s a murder mystery unfolding and a murderer on the loose.

Dark Roads is a great read. It’s got a great setting, and plenty of twists and turns you didn’t see coming and a rich cast of characters. Special thanks to Netgalley and St. Martin’s Press for an advanced e-galley in exchange for my honest review. This one is out August 3, 2021. Get your copy!

Indiebound

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: