Perfectly Famous, Elizabeth Liebert, 2.5 Stars

Do you ever finish a book and audibly say, “What was that?” or snort, or cackle? Or maybe even just stare in disbelief?

I REALLY hate being critical of books, because I know an author’s heart and soul goes into each page. And sometimes it’s not even their fault! They say there is a certain amount of blindness that occurs with our own writing (granted, they might be talking about typos?). But still.

I really hate being this critical, but this just happened to me. And unfortunately, it was the book I’m reviewing today.

From the Publisher:


As a mother and a famous author, Ward DeFleur has it all. She lives in a beautiful estate in picture-perfect Connecticut, along with her teenage daughter, Stevie, where nothing can go wrong. Until, one night, when Stevie is brutally murdered and Ward’s entire world is shattered. Consumed by panic and grief, Ward vows never to put pen to paper again.

Enter Bree Bennett.

Bree is a recently-divorced, former-journalist-cum-housewife, desperate to fill her days with something other than Pilates classes and grocery shopping. So she decides to start writing for the town newspaper. What begins as Bree’s effort to tell Ward’s tragic narrative turns into a fixation with finding her favorite author. Unfortunately, Ward doesn’t want to be found. Even worse, Stevie’s killer is still on the loose…

This harrowing tale of one woman’s infatuation and another woman’s fear is full of explosive surprises, perfect for fans of The Night Olivia Fell and Then She Was Gone.

My Review:

When I first started reading Perfectly Famous, I kept confusing the characters, Bree and Ward. Yes, they are single both moms with teen daughters. And yes, they have similar voices on that page. But by about 50 pages in, there were enough distinguishers that I was able to tell them apart, and the book got a little better for me.

Ward is a famous author, who was interrupted at a book event for her most recent release, by the news that her daughter has gone missing. It didn’t turn out okay. She was abused and attacked, and didn’t make it.

Fast forward 5 months and Bree, a divorced mom trying to build a career for the first time in sixteen years, gets it into her head that she is going to write a series of articles on Ward and is going to turn that into a book. Why is she sure this will be a success? Ward has been missing since the night her daughter disappeared.

Bree’s kind of a psycho, stalking Ward’s brother down and visiting Ward’s house, but justifies it as what a reporter needs to do to get the story. She’s also kind of a mess with her dating life. She’s found a nice guy Scott, but has developed a crush on Ward’s brother too. And there’s a bit more drama there than seems necessary.

Ward is also a piece of work. She’s shifty and easily excitable and refusing to work, which everyone thinks is a huge deal, except she lost her daughter only 4 months ago. She reunites with some friends and an ex boyfriend shows up and that whole thing is confusing and unnecessary.

As I write this book, I’m liking it less, but it was somewhat enjoyable for most of the book. But that ending.

Special thanks to Netgalley and Gallery Books for an advanced e-galley in exchange for my honest review. This one is out June 2, 2020. Get your copy:

Indiebound

3 thoughts on “Perfectly Famous, Elizabeth Liebert, 2.5 Stars

Add yours

  1. I’ve read books like this. Unfortunately, sometimes we just can’t be nice and honest at the same time. I literally had an author tell me that if I read another of his books, to be nice or don’t review. Considering I thought I was nice considering how much I HATED the book (and the part that I hated is the part the editors tried to talk him out of). It’s a fine line we walk as book bloggers.

    Like

    1. I agree. But I also feel like if we never share bad reviews, it’s hard to be taken seriously when we write a good one. So it’s kind of a lose lose situation.

      Like

      1. I always promise an honest review, but even when I don’t like a book, I try to be kind. I call myself the Picky bookworm, because while I love to read, I don’t enjoy everything. But I get the desire of an author for people to enjoy his or her work. So yeah, it’s definitely lose lose.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: