Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman, 4 1/2 Stars

I was kind of reluctant to pick up Something in the Water. I knew it was a NY Times bestseller and while many of those are completely amazing (most actually), I had it in my head for some reason that it was pretentious or one of those books that everyone says they love but that no one actually enjoys reading.

And I have absolutely no idea why I thought that. Because it’s a thriller, my usual genre. And it was so so good. And it’s a Reese Witherspoon Hello Sunshine pick. And I super love her too. So I don’t know what I was thinking. My apologies to Ms. Steadman and Ms. Witherspoon.

I picked it up and started reading it around my kids’ bedtime. And finished it a couple of hours later. I didn’t even get up from that spot except to visit the loo or fill my wine glass.

It wasn’t until after I read the book that I realized the author was an actress from Downton Abbey, one of my faves. She doesn’t play a huge roll, but she is recognizable for the typical fan as Mabel Lane. I don’t know if it adds anything to the book, but it was a fun bit of trivia to discover.

It was such a satisfying evening to just sit and read. And I really enjoyed this book.

From the Publisher:

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut–for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

My Review

To call Something in the Water a page-turner would be a huge understatement. I kind of felt like my pages were turning themselves as I flew through this one in just hours. It’s just one of those books that is so compulsively readable, you just can’t put it down until the very end.

The book’s ending is revealed extremely early on in the book. But based on what we know at the beginning of the book, reaching that conclusion seems impossible. So, the resulting story is a fast-paced whirlwind of a love story, a curious discovery and incredible danger.

I found the main character, Erin, very easy to relate to and her job as a documentary filmmaker is very interesting. Her husband Mark, seems like one of those perfect men that just make life better. And it does seem that way for a while.

Anyhow, you need to read this one. If you are hesitant, like I was, you are crazy. Just suck it up and pick up the book. But make sure you clear the afternoon or evening because you aren’t going to want to walk away from this one!

Get it now!

Indiebound

2 thoughts on “Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman, 4 1/2 Stars

Add yours

    1. Thanks! I liked your review too! So funny we were both hesitant to read it. Now that I know Reese has a Bookclub I’m going to check out her recommendations more!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: